European Funding

LogoESIF_Col_Landscape (1)



The area has been allocated over £85m from the European Union to support economic growth and create jobs over the next seven to ten years. See our current opportunities listed further down this page.

Growth Strategy
In our European Structural and Investment Funds (ESIF) Strategy we set out how our area’s funding will be invested to achieve our objectives.

Our European Structural and Investment Funds (ESIF) Programme 2014-2020 is drawn from three separate European funds; the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF), the European Social Fund (ESF) and the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development (EAFRD).

Open ESIF Funding Rounds
Friday 16 December – 30 April 2017

The latest round of ESIF funding opened on Friday 16 December.
Around £13 million is being made available for investment to create jobs and economic growth.
The funding is available for schemes in:

The closing date for applications is 30 April 2017.

For advice and support with applying for European Structural Investment Funds, please visit There, further details can also be found about a series of workshops that are taking place in January – which we recommend those who are interested attend.

For further information on any of the calls, please call Pip Betts on 07825 011961 or email [email protected]

2016 ESF Skills contracts awarded

York, North Yorkshire & East Riding is benefitting from around 20 million investment in European Structural Investment Funding (ESIF).

Our emerging projects are directed towards:
– Supporting our local businesses to grow and develop their workforce.
– Supporting those already in work to progress their skills levels.
– Supporting young people to make better informed careers choices.
– Helping those furthest from the labour market to progress towards employment.

For further details about these projects and their eligibility click here.


The ESIF Programme is governed by a local sub-committee made up of representatives from a variety of organisations from across our region. Specifically, the committee helps:

• develop, in conjunction with the managing authorities, annual implementation plans to focus delivery and performance;
• discuss with the managing authorities the breadth, scope and timing of funding calls required in each local area;
• contribute local expertise to the managing authorities’ selection and prioritisation of projects.

Committee members

Local Enterprise Partnership representatives

Local authorities representatives

  • Councillor Jane Evison, East Riding of Yorkshire Council
  • Councillor  Linda Cowling, Ryedale District Council
  • Councillor Ian Gillies, City of York Council
  • Councillor Chris Metcalfe, North Yorkshire County Council

Education, skills and employment representatives

  • Allan Stewart, Principal Selby College
  • Fay Treloar, Director of External Engagement, York St John University

Rural and farming representative

  • Janet Thornton, Executive Member, Yorkshire Food, Farming and Rural Network

Environmental representative

  • David Renwick, Director of Conservation, North York Moors National Park Authority

Trade Unions representative

  • Bev Clarkson, Unite

Micro and small businesses representatives

  • Andrew MacHutcon, Mackenzie Partnership

The voluntary and community sector representatives

  • Sam Alexander, Chief Executive, Your Consortium
  • Caroline O’Neill, North Yorkshire and York Forum

The LEADER, CLLD and local groups representative

  • Graham Ward, LEADER Coast, Wolds, Wetlands & Waterways Local Action Group

Managing authorities’ representatives

  • Michael Hunter, ESF Senior Operation Manager, Department for Work and Pensions
  • Sophie Donaldson, ESF Contract Manager, Department for Work and Pensions
  • Martin Hewitson, JobCentre Plus
  • Andy Tordoff, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra)
  • Joanna Rowell, ERDF Programme Delivery Team: Yorkshire & the Humber, Department for Communities and Local Government
  • Kathryn Cambell-Savours, ERDF Programme Delivery Team: Yorkshire & the Humber, Department for Communities and Local Government
  • Donna Atkins, ERDF Programme Delivery Team: Yorkshire & the Humber, Department for Communities and Local Government
  • Peter Campey, Assistant Director, BIS Yorkshire, Humber and the North East, Department of Business, Innovations and Skills

LEP Officers (advisory)

For more information, please see our frequently asked questions and/or government policy on European funds.